Skip to main content

Icon Legend
This session is not in your schedule.
This session is in your schedule. Click again to remove it.


Upload Image Experimental Biology 2022 is pleased to announce the 2020 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science Laureate

Dr. Charles Dinarello, M.D.'s lecture is titled, “IL-1 as the Master Cytokine for Inflammatory Diseases”. Dr. Dinarello starts his lecture with the historical background for search endogenous fever-producing molecule.  He then explains the studies that confirm the ability of recombinant IL-1 to evoke disease in experimental models as well as the shift from using IL-1 to blocking IL-1 in humans with inflammatory diseases. Dr. Dinarello concludes that new therapies that reduce IL-1's activities will become a new frontier in lifting the burden of disease.

(Registered attendees only)

About the 2020 Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science

The Tang Prize in Biopharmaceutical Science recognizes original biopharmaceutical or biomedical research that has led to significant advances towards preventing, diagnosing and/or treating major human diseases to improve human health.  The Laureates for 2020 are Charles Dinarello of the University of Colorado, Marc Feldman, University of Oxford, UK and Tadamitsu Kishimoto of Osaka University. 

Development of biologic drugs, or biologics, has revolutionized the treatment of diseases. For 2020, the Tang Prize Foundation recognizes the development of biologics targeting three of a large family of proteins in our immune system called cytokines. Cytokines are secreted proteins that have profound multi-organ, multi-tissue and multi-cellular impact on cell signaling.

These proteins are produced by a broad range of cells, with immune cells being a major source and they act through cell surface receptors to deliver diverse intracellular messages. They are referred to as immunomodulating agents by being important in host immune responses to infection and are associated with the development and progression of a variety of diseases, including inflammatory diseases, autoimmune syndromes and cancer. Some cytokines are designated as interleukins, initially used to describe those expressed by white blood cells (leukocytes), deriving from (inter-) "as a means of communication" and (-leukin), to reflect the fact that many of these proteins are produced by leukocytes and act on leukocytes. Tumor necrosis factor (TNF), interleukin-1 (IL-1) and interleukin-6 (IL-6) are among the most extensively investigated cytokines by the scientific community and biologics targeting them are among the most widely used biopharmaceuticals.  

The Tang Prize awardees have all made transformative contributions in the discovery and/or therapeutic development targeting these three cytokines. 

More about Charles Dinarello, University of Colorado 
More about Marc Feldman, University of Oxford, UK 
More about Tadamitsu Kishimoto, Osaka University

About the Tang Prize

Upload Image In the advent of industrialization and globalization, humanity has greatly enjoyed the convenience brought about by science and technology, reaping unprecedented benefits made possible by progress and development. Yet, humanity also faces a multitude of critical environmental, socio-cultural, and ethical issues on an unparalleled scale, such as climate change, inequality, and moral degradation. Against this backdrop, Dr. Samuel Yin established the Tang Prize in December 2012 to encourage individuals across the globe to chart the middle path to achieving sustainable development by recognizing and supporting contributors for their revolutionary efforts in the four major fields of Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law. The Tang Prize is truly global in reach, with laureates selected on the basis of the originality of their work along with their contributions to society irrespective of their nationality or ethnicity.

Rooted in the long-standing cultural traditions of Chinese philosophical thinking and in an outlook of convergence and mutual enrichment with other traditions, the Tang Prize aims to provide fresh impetus to promote first-class research and development in the 21st century. Ultimately, the Tang Prize seeks to bring about positive change to the global community and to create a brighter future for all humanity.

Past EB Tang Prize Lecturers

James P. Allison, 2015 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Tasuku Honjo, 2016 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Emmanuelle Charpentier, 2017 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Feng Zhang, 2018 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Brian Druker, 2019 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture
Tony Hunter, 2021 EB Tang Prize Award Lecture

For more information on these laureates, please visit the Tang Prize Foundation website.